Connect with us


3 Dead Persons among President Buhari’s Latest 1467 Appointees | See List




President Muhammadu Buhari in one fell swoop on Friday night appointed 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of government owned agencies and parastatals, redeeming a part of the pledge he made 31 October at the National Executive Committee meeting of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

More appointments are on the way, said Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, who announced the latest massive batch of appointees.

At the APC NEC meeting, President Buhari also hinted he would expand his cabinet by appointing more ministers.

The latest appointments, the largest President Buhari ever made since 2015, saw Dapo Abiodun, Chairman of Heyden Petroleum, who contested for the senatorial seat of Ogun East in the 2015 election named as the new chairman of Corporate Affairs Commission.

Buhari also appointed himself as the chairman of the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI) and head of Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority.

Many big wigs of the APC were similarly appointed.

The party’s legal adviser, Muiz Banire is now the chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON). Senator Olorunimbe Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre.

The party’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman of the Shippers Council. Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the party is in charge of the National Sugar Development Council (NSDC).

Former Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Etteh, who was docked for corruption, is the new chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in charge of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.

Twitter users, scouring the list, also discovered that three of the people appointed have long passed.

Senator Francis Okpozo, who passed December 2016, was appointed the Chairman of the Nigerian Press Council.

Reverend Christopher Utov, who passed in March 2017, sits on the board of the Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research.

Donald Ugbaja, who passed in November, was also added to the board of the Consumer Protection Council.

According to Boss Mustapha, all the appointments take immediate effect.

The ministers under whom the agencies fall, have been asked to constitute the boards immediately. He said:

Mr. President considered the approval for the constitution of the Boards as well as the appointments, very necessary, so as to provide a proper Governance and oversight structure for Government Agencies and Parastatals.

The constitution of the boards with the appointments, is a demonstration of this Government’s efforts aimed at building strong institutions of Governance, and by extension, improving the quality of Policy formulation and supervision.

Dr. Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for health in Lagos was appointed chairman of National Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, also a former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture, Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission.

George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian Communications Satellite (NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.

Former governors of Ekiti state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Engineer Segun Oni were also named as chairmen. Adebayo is in charge of Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). Oni who is a vice-chairman of the APC has been posted to Nigerian Export Processing Zone. Senator Ayo Arise, a recent kidnap victim will chair Sheda Science and Technology Complex.

Former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline Tallen is the new chairman of National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS (NACA).

Former deputy governor of Ondo state, Ali Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, while a former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.

Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as chairman.

Download the full list HERE


  1. Disguised

    December 30, 2017 at 10:23 am

    Ghost workers: salary going into someone else pocket.

    Nigerian which way???

    • Wale Vintage

      December 30, 2017 at 4:13 pm

      I don’t think it is intentional-I think they are a bunch of highly incompetent people in agbada. We thought the new SFG – Mr. Boss will whip them all into order but with all these recent mistakes one is left to wonder if there is some supernatural powers the zaps the brain of people when they step foot inside the president’s palace. There is no one to cross check things. Laziness, incompetence and a bunch of corrupt hypocrites. I can’t wait for this administration to be kicked out.

  2. APC

    December 30, 2017 at 10:52 am

    Na PDP fault

  3. keke driver

    December 30, 2017 at 11:36 am

    Isn’t this laughable and annoying at the same time?

  4. lol

    December 30, 2017 at 11:41 am

    To think that he sent his condolence to one of the dead person baffles me .

  5. Anon

    December 30, 2017 at 1:36 pm! They are having a good laugh.

  6. Tosin

    December 30, 2017 at 3:45 pm

    in appointing the three, i’m sure bubu had a reason. maybe he was going for that supernatural wisdom and experience.

  7. wifematerial

    December 30, 2017 at 5:37 pm

    Clueless president……………………………..what shame!!

  8. Mrs chidukane

    December 30, 2017 at 6:58 pm

    What does he even know about science, technology and nuclear energy that he appointed himself Chairman of?

  9. Amaa

    December 30, 2017 at 8:17 pm

    What!!!!!! Patricia Eteh heading National Hospital no wonder Bubu doesn’t trust the health system in Nigeria. If he can gamble with health then he is really incompetent. After spending tax payers money on your health abroad. Kai 2019 please hurry oh . These guys aren’t serious at all

  10. GYOnlineNG.COM

    December 30, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    Hmmmmmmmmm, can’t stop laughing..

  11. Muse

    December 30, 2017 at 10:55 pm

    How can the dead have jobs and the living can barely get by? Whom did we offend to get this type of leaders?

  12. Wale Vintage

    December 30, 2017 at 11:09 pm

    Muniz Banire now is Amcon chairman-that is a finger in Tinubu’s eye. Muniz and Ambode don’t get along and there has been issues with banire’s properties. I think this is a way to keep Tinubu who is Ambode’s Godfather in check. Buhari is trying to cut Tinubu’s wing-but the man is way smarter. Buhari is not grateful for Tinubu’s help the last time.
    Every other appointment is mainly political. A lot of which are square pegs in round holes. Only 4 or 5 of these parastatals are really important. Perhaps only a couple have the leadership well matched to their agency. Majority of the appointees would attend occasional meetings if any at all and collect salaries and benefits. There are more Northern names as always. Not proportional at all. Congrats to them all. Time to enjoy your piece of the National cake.

  13. tunmi

    December 31, 2017 at 1:12 am

    I don’t have the time or energy to dig into this list. Does anyone know of any site or blog that has done the research?

    Also apparently the Vice-President will be heading the National Boundary Commission and the National Planning Commission

  14. Ibi

    December 31, 2017 at 5:01 am

    No point voting in this country. you are either voting for a th..f or a th..f

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Star Features