Connect with us


NLNG releases Longlist for Nigeria Prize for Literature



NLNG releases Shortlist for Nigeria Prize for LiteratureNLNG has released a shortlist of 11 poets for the 2017 edition of the annual Nigeria Prize for Literature.

The 11 books were taken from a pool of 184 entries for the $100,000 prize.

The NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature is awarded annually.

The prize is rotated among four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.

The 2017 prize recognizes poetry. The shortlist was announced on Facebook.

The shortlisted authors listed in alphabetical order are as follows:

Akinlabi, Peter – Iconography

Ekwuazi, Hyginus – One Day I’ll Dare to Raise My Middle Finger at the Stork and the Reaper

Gomba, Obari – For Every Homeland

Ifowodo, Ogaga – A Good Mourning

Lari-Williams, Seun – Garri for Breakfast

Ogu, Humphrey – Echoes of Neglect

Ojaide, Tanure – Songs of Myself: Quartet

Oke, Ikeogu – The Heresiad

Othman, Abubakar – Blood Streams in the Desert

Verissimo, Jumoke – The Birth of Illusion

Yeibo, Ebi – Of Waters and the Wild

The list was presented by the judges for this year’s prize led by the chairperson, Ernest Emenyonu, Professor of Africana Studies at the University of Michigan-Flint, USA. Other members of the panel include Razinat Mohammed, Associate Professor of Literature at the University of Maiduguri, and Tade Ipadeola, poet, lawyer and winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literature, 2013.

The 2016 prize was for prose fiction and was awarded to Abubakar Adam Ibrahim for Seasons of Crimson Blossom.

Photo Credit: Facebook – Nigeria Prize for Literature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features