The Winners Have Emerged For the 2014 Afrinolly Short Film Competition | View The List Here

The top three winners in the 2014 MTN Afrinolly Short Film Competition have finally been selected. After submissions opened for Season 2 of the competition on September 1, 2013, over 400 entries were received from African filmmakers from 16 countries by the deadline of November 30, 2013. An international panel of judges in the creative industries pruned it down to the best 10 films in both the Short Film and Documentary categories.

The jury shortlisted 20 entries based on concept and execution – the story’s originality and imaginative force, clarity of purpose and its ability to captivate as well as how effectively the filmmaker reflected technical knowledge of acting, editing, sound, lighting, camera work.

Check out the winning videos at {HERE}

Short Film
First Prize ($25,000): Everything Happens for a Reason by Florian Schott
Second Prize ($10,000): Crimson – Your Cup of Tea by Daniel Etim Effiong
Third Prize ($5,000): 10:10 by Gbenga Salu

First Prize ($25,000) : Creative Minds by Victor Okoye
Second Prize ($10,000): Awele’s Diary by Ronke Ogunmakin
Third Prize ($5,000) : Yellow Fever by Ng’endo Mukii

Other finalists in both categories will receive $500 each. The awards presentation ceremony themed “Lions Rising” will be held in Lagos, Nigeria on 22nd February, 2014. The invite only event to celebrate the Generation of Digital Film Makers in Africa would have the introduction of some individual awards, most notably the ‘Komla Dumor Award for Storytelling’ in memorial of one of the Competition judges.

Watch the Montage

The Afrinolly Short Film Competition is an initiative of the developers of Afrinolly mobile app. The competition was supported by MTN, Cote Ouest Audiovisuel, IREP, Goethe Institut. Media partners include EbonyLife TV, Beat 99.9FM and BellaNaija.

5 Comments on The Winners Have Emerged For the 2014 Afrinolly Short Film Competition | View The List Here
  • pynk January 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Congrats to the winners

  • Dee January 23, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    YAS!!!! Crimson……..

  • Miss Anonymous January 23, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    Congrats Daniel!

  • @edDREAMZ January 24, 2014 at 7:33 am

    Gud to knw…..

  • Turi January 24, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Loving the initiative… There’s a new school of upcoming directors and i hope they go far. Congrats to all.

  • Post a comment