Connect with us



Beyoncé and Adele Top MTV Video Music Awards 2016 Nominations List | Kanye West’s “Famous” Nominated for Best Video of the Year



NEW YORK, NY - JULY 26: A mural is unveiled announcing the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards nominations in First Street Green Art Park on July 25, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images for MTV)

NEW YORK, NY – JULY 26: A mural is unveiled announcing the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards nominations in First Street Green Art Park on July 25, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images for MTV)

The 2016 MTV Video Music Award nominations are here!

Leading this year’s nominees is none other than Beyoncé with a total of 11 nominations, including Video of the Year for ‘Formation’ and the newest VMA category, Breakthrough Long Form Video, for her HBO special ‘Lemonade’. That’s the most nominations she’s ever gotten in a single year.

Adele comes in second with a total of eight nominations, seven of which are for her iconic ‘Hello’ visual, including Video of the Year. Drake’s ‘Hotline Bling’, Justin Bieber’s ‘Sorry’, and Kanye West’s ‘Famous’ are also up for Video of the Year.


The nominations were revealed via Facebook Live, and the Video of the Year nominees were painted onto a panoramic mural in New York’s East Village.

See the full list below:.

Video of the Year
Adele – Hello
Beyoncé – Formation
Drake – Hotline Bling
Justin Bieber – Sorry
Kanye West – Famous

Best Female Video
Adele – Hello
Beyoncé – Hold Up
Sia – Cheap Thrills
Ariana Grande – Into You
Rihanna ft. Drake – Work (short version)

Best Male Video
Drake – Hotline Bling
Bryson Tiller – Don’t
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – This Is What You Came For
Kanye West – Famous
The Weeknd – Can’t Feel My Face

Best Collaboration
Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – Freedom
Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign – Work From Home
Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne – Let Me Love You
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – This Is What You Came For
Rihanna ft. Drake – Work (short version)

Best Hip Hop Video
Drake – Hotline Bling
Desiigner – Panda
Bryson Tiller – Don’t
Chance The Rapper ft. Saba – Angels
2 Chainz – Watch Out

Best Pop Video
Adele – Hello
Beyoncé – Formation
Justin Bieber – Sorry
Alessia Cara – Wild Things
Ariana Grande – Into You

Best Rock Video
All Time Low – Missing You
Coldplay – Adventure Of A Lifetime
Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato – Irresistible
twenty one pilots – Heathens
Panic! At The Disco – Victorious

Best Electronic Video
Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep Is Your Love
99 Souls ft. Destiny’s Child & Brandy – The Girl Is Mine
Mike Posner – I Took A Pill In Ibiza
Afrojack – SummerThing!
The Chainsmokers ft. Daya – Don’t Let Me Down

Breakthrough Long Form Video
Florence + The Machine – The Odyssey
Beyoncé – Lemonade
Justin Bieber – PURPOSE: The Movement
Chris Brown – Royalty
Troye Sivan – Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy

Best New Artist
Bryson Tiller
Zara Larsson
Lukas Graham

Professional Categories

Best Art Direction
Beyoncé – Hold Up (Production Designer: Jason Hougaard)
Fergie – M.I.L.F. $ (Production Designer: Alexander Delgado)
Drake – Hotline Bling (Production Designer: Jeremy MacFarlane)
David Bowie – Blackstar (Production Designer: Jan Houllevigue)
Adele – Hello (Production Designer: Colombe Raby)

Best Choreography
Beyoncé – Formation (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia)
Missy Elliott ft. Pharrell – WTF (Where They From) (Choreographer: Hi-Hat)
Beyoncé – Sorry (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia, Anthony Burrell, Beyoncé Knowles Carter)
FKA Twigs – M3LL155X (Choreographer: FKA Twigs)
Florence + The Machine – Delilah (Choreographer: Holly Blakey)

Best Direction
Beyoncé – Formation (Director: Melina Matsoukas)
Coldplay – Up&Up (Director: Vania Heymann, Gal Muggia)
Adele – Hello (Director: Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie – Lazarus (Director: Johan Renck)
Tame Impala – The Less I Know The Better (Director: Canada)

Best Cinematography
Beyoncé – Formation (Cinematographer: Malik Sayeed)
Adele – Hello (Cinematographer: André Turpin)
David Bowie – Lazarus (Cinematographer: Crille Forsberg)
Alesso – I Wanna Know (Cinematographer: Corey Jennings)
Ariana Grande – Into You (Cinematographer: Paul Laufer)

Best Editing
Beyoncé – Formation (Editor: Jeff Selis)
Adele – Hell (Editor: Xavier Dolan)
Fergie – M.I.L.F. $ (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs)
David Bowie – Lazarus (Editor: Johan Söderberg)
Ariana Grande – Into You (Editor: Hannah Lux Davis)

Best Visual Effects
Coldplay – Up&Up (VFX Editor: Vania Heymann)
FKA Twigs – M3LL155X (VFX Editor: Lewis Saunders, Jihoon Yoo)
Adele – Send My Love (To Your New Lover) (VFX Editor: Sam Sneade)
The Weeknd – Can’t Feel My Face (VFX Editor: Bryan Smaller)
Zayn – Pillow talk (VFX Editor: David Smith)

The 2016 MTV Video Music Awards will air live from New York’s Madison Square Garden on Sunday, August 28th at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT and you can vote here.

Photo Credit: Getty Images/Mike Coppola


  1. Nk

    July 27, 2016 at 2:57 am

    Kanye’s video is a master class act! Very creative and out of the box!

  2. Sebastian

    July 27, 2016 at 8:09 am

    I think I have it figured out. Bey will win Video of the year. Adele will win Best Female Video of the Year. Kanye will win Best Male Video of the Year. ALessia Cara will win Best Pop Video of the Year. And I see Adele picking up Best Cinematography and Best Editing as well. Alright, I’m a very huge Adele fan, there you have it.

  3. Chu-chu

    July 27, 2016 at 11:58 am

    I hope Bryson Tiller wins an award, poor Tory Lanez didn’t get any nominations.

  4. Prince

    July 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    Queen Bey will break the record again this time. with 11noms, she’s going home with not less than 8awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features