Connect with us


2019 Cohort for the Tutu Leadership Fellowship Announced | See Full List



The African Leadership Institute (ALI) has released the list of the 2019 cohort for the Tutu Leadership Fellowship.

The emerging African leaders, 23 in number, were selected from nearly 250 nominees across the African continent

Including the candidates nominated by ALI’s sponsoring organisations, the candidates represent 12 different African countries, ranging from 25 to 39 years of age, and span several industries.

“The selected candidates demonstrate the incredible wealth and breadth of leadership talent that exists in Africa’s youth,” ALI said.

Five Nigerians made the list: Debisi Araba, Nneka Eze, Samson Itodo, Uzoma Nwagba, and Akintunde Oyebode.

Debisi Araba is a public policy and strategy specialist. He is the Africa Region Director at the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT); and a member of the CGIAR, the consortium on international agriculture research.

Nneka Eze leads Dalberg’s work in Nigeria, where she is a Partner and the Lagos Office Director. She has worked with private corporations, state governments, and foundations on strategic planning, market analysis, investment planning, and performance transformation.

Samson Itodo is the Executive Director of YIAGA AFRICA, a community of change makers focused on building sustainable democracies in Africa anchored on the principles of inclusion, justice, accountability and constitutionalism.

Uzoma Nwagba has built his expertise at the intersection of technology and finance. Today, he is the Chief Operating Officer of Nigeria’s Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme (GEEP), managing the world’s largest micro-credit scheme.

Akintunde Oyebode is the Special Adviser, Investment, Trade and Innovation at Ekiti State Government, Nigeria, where he is responsible for leading the state government’s efforts to make Ekiti an attractive destination for investors and innovation-driven enterprises and to create jobs for young people. Prior to this, Akin was the Executive Secretary and CEO of the Lagos State Employment Trust Fund.

See the full list below:

  • Mical Agina
  • Debisi Araba PhD
  • Marcia Ashong
  • Edwine Barasa PhD
  • Mohammed Barry
  • Issam Chleuh
  • Akim Daouda
  • Sangu Delle JD
  • Nneka Eze
  • Dr Angela Gichaga
  • Ronak Gopaldas
  • Lesego Holzapfel
  • Samson Itodo
  • Dhiren Mansingh
  • Simbarashe Mhungu
  • Simbarashe Mhuriro
  • Makgola Makololo
  • Uzoma Nwagba
  • Vivian Onano
  • Mohamed Osman
  • Akintunde Oyebode

Read more about each fellow on ALI’s website.

Star Features