Connect with us


CNBC Africa Celebrates Change Makers in African Business! Check Out the West African Finalists for the All Africa Business Leader Awards



Africa, STAND UP! We’re excited to announce that the EThekwini municipality, Durban, south Africa will host the finale of the CNBC Africa All Africa Business Leader Awards. The idea behind the awards is to celebrate African game changers, as the award seeks to laud the efforts of bold individuals who have shaped business on the continent in 2013.

The winners from each region will automatically become finalists in the grand finale to be hosted in the city of EThekwini (Durban), South Africa, later this year.

According to the executive director of programming at CNBC Africa, Bronwyn Nielsen, “We are excited to have Durban on-board with the CNBC Africa All Africa Business Leader Awards and we look forward to raising the bar even further for African business leaders. As the awards grow from strength to strength, I have no doubt that being recognized at the CNBC Africa All Africa Business Leader Awards presented by Johnnie Walker Blue Label will be a crowning achievement for anyone at the top of their career

By selecting winners from a wide range of categories, the awards recognise the diversity that characterises the field of business, and celebrates the many aspects that combine to form a visionary business landscape.

The finalist’s for each category in West Africa are:

Business Leader of the Year

Jean-Louis Ekra – President and Chairman, African Export-Import Bank
Segun Agbaje – Managing Director, Guaranty Trust Bank PLC
Andrew Alli – Africa Finance Corporation President and CEO

Business Woman of the Year 2013

Arunma Oteh – Director-General of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Nigeria
Biola Adekanbi-Alabi – Managing Director, M-Net Africa Managing Director
Sola David-Borha – Chief Executive: Stanbic IBTC Holdings PLC

Entrepreneur of the Year 2013

Fabrice Sawegnon – Voodoo Group, CEO
Tayo Oviosu – Paga Founder, CEO
Sim Shagaya – Founder, CEO

Young Business Leader of the Year 2013

Obinna Ralph Ekezie – Limited, Founder and Managing Director
Jason Njoku – iROKO Partners, CEO and Co-Founder

For more information, go to  or to apply for media accreditation please {Here}


  1. new bride

    August 27, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Go Tayo Oviosu! Just Paga it!!!

  2. Blossom

    August 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Can someone please explain to me why Arunma Oteh’s name is on this list and not on the nation’s most wanted list?

    • slice

      August 27, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      colour me confused. how is the DG of the SEC under the business woman of the year award.

  3. kehinde

    August 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm


  4. Oluwatosin

    August 27, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    I can’t wait to be there,
    Congratulations to all the finalists,
    You are all winners
    And Kudos to the great changes you have brought to the continent.

  5. Ade

    August 28, 2013 at 1:54 am

    I like the Konga guy’s vision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features