Connect with us


Dariye Wins, Nenadi Loses in PDP Senatorial Contest



Joshua-DariyeSenator Joshua Dariye, who recently returned to PDP, on Sunday emerged winner of the party’s primary election for Plateau Central Senatorial District.

A serving senator under Labour Party (LP), Dariye scored 104 votes to beat four others in the race for the constituency.

The primary, held amidst tight security, was conducted peacefully with all delegates from the five local government areas that constituted the zone displaying spirit of sportsmanship.

Solomon Zang, Chairman of the party’s Electoral Committee, who announced the result, said that 262 delegates voted out of 263.

“I wish to declare that out of the 262 votes cast, Sen. Joshua Dariye got 104 votes with  Alexander Mwolwus coming second with 84 votes.

“On behalf of my committee members, I wish to declare Dariye as the winner of the primaries and so returned elected as candidate of Plateau Central Senatorial District,’’ he said.

Zang said Emmanuel Goar scored 46 votes; Abbas Dayilim, 14; while Satti Gogwim scored 12.

Dariye, in his post election speech, expressed gratitude to God and the delegates for the opportunity and trust bestowed on him.

While thanking the national leadership of PDP and Governor Jonah Jang for allowing him to return to the party, Dariye pledged his allegiance and loyalty to the party and the people of his constituency.

Senator Ibrahim Mantu was the only delegate that did not show up for the primary, which took place at the Pankshin Youth Centre.

In Kafanchan, Kaduna State, incumbent Senator Nenadi Usman of Kaduna South Senatorial District, fell by the way during the PDP primary election in Kafanchan, Jema’a Local Government Area.

The Presiding Officer, Nuhu Ibrahim, while announcing the result, said 323 votes were cast and 1 invalid vote while three aspirants, including Usman, Danjuma Laah and Joseph Gumbari, contested for the zone.

Ibrahim said two other aspirants, John Ayuba and Mark Jacob, opted out of the contest before the election.

He said Senator Usman scored 123 votes; Joseph Gummbari, 70; while Danjuma Laah won with 129 votes.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) was established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in May 1976 to gather and distribute news on Nigeria and cover events of interest to Nigeria at the international level for the benefit of the Nigerian Media and the Public.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features