Connect with us


After weeks of voting, The Future Awards releases shortlist for 2010 Edition

Avatar photo



Nominee, Osaze Odemwingie

Nominee, Osaze Odemwingie

After more than 4 weeks of voting as well as the first stage of judging, the Central Working Committee for The Future Awards 2010, known as Nigeria’s biggest youth event, has released its shortlist.

The Nominees List, which was released in December 2009, had 8 nominees per category, but, as usual, the shortlist has the 5 per category, who have made it to the next stage – and are closer to winning the coveted awards.

“As always, the shortlist comes after we have collated the results of the online and sms voting, as managed by Vas2nets, and combine that with the results of the first stage of judging,” said Emilia Asim-Ita, the event’s PR Director. “This was done by the Board of Judges, made up 30 young journalists from across media houses like The Guardian, Thisday, The Punch, NEXT, TELL and others. After the release of this shortlist now, it moves on to the Independent Audit Committee, which will decide on the finalists. However, there is no shortlist for the Young Person of the Year category – all of the nominees for the biggest award are finalists.”

The three finalists for each award will be unveiled alongside the winners of the awards at the grand event which holds on Sunday, February 7, 2010. The strictly by invitation event has as Keynote Speaker, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, who is Managing Director of the World Bank.

More information on the process and the awards is on the website,

Shortlist for The Future Awards 2010

Actor of the Year

Omoni Oboli

Gideon Okeke

Mercy Johnson

Kemi Lala Akindoju

Ali Nuhu

Best Use of Advocacy

Ndubude Matthew Ekene (Nigeria Youth Fight Against Malaria)

Emmanuel Odiase (Smokefree Foundation)

Tosin Sangosanya (Dustbin Children Foundation)

Isoke Aikpitanyi (Casa de Isoke)

Light Up Nigeria

Best Use of Science

Akintunde Babatunde (Invention in wastewater treatment)

Ify Aniebo (Research in malaria)

Otejiri Oghoghorie (0.1 Seconds Automatic Changeover)

Tosin Ogunrinde (Invention in robotics)

Okelola Mayokun (Research in climate change)

Best Use of Technology

Bode Pedro (Veda Technology)

Ike Orizu (

Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)

Uche Eze (

Bade Adesemowo (Bincom)

Business Owner of the Year

Oghenekaro Agono (Tremor Perfect)

Erefa Fynecontry (Doheney Services)

Debola Lewis (Yvent Couture)

Hassan Rilwan (Focal Point Publishing)

Henry Orajiaka (Motomedia)

Creative Artist of the Year

Onyeka Nwelue

Andrew Esiebo

Jumoke Verissimo

Adekunle Samuel Owolabi

Richardson Oviebo

Excellence in Public Service

Jerry Uchechukwu Eze (UNFPA)

Dr. Abraham Idokoko (General Hospital, Lagos)

Fatima Zara Modibbo (Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria)

Ngozi Iheukwumere (University Teaching Hospital, Ilorin)

Oluwatoyin Jegede (Engineering Department, University of Lagos)

Journalist of the Year

Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)

Ruona Agbroko (NEXT)

Chinedu Iroche (NEXT)

Segun Adeoye (TELL)

Funke Adetutu (BusinessDay)

Magazine of the Year


Soundcity Blast

The Applause



Model of the Year

Ibukun Jegede

Olubunmi Ademokoya

Tayo Ishola

Warebi Martha

Owobowale Ogunlaja

Musician of the Year

Dare Art-Alade

Wande Coal

Banky W



Music Producer of the Year

Jesse Jagz


K Solo

Terry G


On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio)

Tosyn Bucknor (Top Radio)

Matse Uwatse (Wazobia FM)

Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi (Beat FM)

Gbemileke Oyinsan (Inspiration FM)

Spaceman (Cool FM)

On-Air Personality of the Year (TV)

Adaure Achumba (Silverbird TV)

Denrele Edun (Soundcity)

Gloria Ebong (Channels TV)

Cynthia Okpala (MTV Base)

Andre Blaze (Nigezie)

Professional of the Year

Dr. Adedayo Osholowu (IOC-certified doctor)

Simi Dosekun (Kachifo Limited)

Dipo Okuribido (Banwo & Ighodalo)

Aneto Okonkwo (Management Consultant)

Ifunnaya Maduka (Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls)

Screen Producer of the Year

Tola Odunsi (Storm Productions)

Imoh Umoren (Ultima Studios)

Yinka Obebe (Nigezie)

Gbenga Salu (Renders & Illusion)

Kenneth Gyang (“Finding Aisha”)

Sportsperson of the Year

Osaze Odemwingie (Football)

Ikechukwu Uche (Football)

Fatima Abinu (Lawn Tennis)

Obafemi Martins (Football)

Janet Dung (Athletics)

Style Entrepreneur of the Year

Muyiwa Osindero (Clothesense)

Uche Nnaji (Ouch!)

Linda Ikeji (Blackdove Communications)

Ugonna Umeruo (House of Nwaocha)

Adetola Olateju (Xquizit)

Team of the Year

African Youths Unite for Change

Light Up Nigeria

Salsa Naija

The Umusu Wives (for Dagashi Hair Company)

Gbagyichild Entertainment

Young Person of the Year

Ik Osakioduwa (On Air Personality)

Toyosi Akerele (Youth Advocate)

Tolu Ogunlesi (Journalist)

Asa (Bukola Elemide) (Singer/Performer)

Ify Aniebo (Science researcher)

Qudus Onikeku (Dance professional)

Stephanie Okereke (Actor/Movie Producer)

Cobhams Asuquo (Music Producer)

* All nominees are Nigerian citizens aged 18-31.
_____________________________________________________ proudly supports The Future Awards as an official media partner. Therefore, we will periodically publish press releases updating our readers on the Future Awards.
For more information on the Future Awards, visit

Star Features