Connect with us


Luka Modric wins 2018 Ballon d’Or Award, ends Messi & Ronaldo’s 10-year Rule



Luka Modric ends Messi & Ronaldo's 10-year Ballon d'Or Rule | BellaNaija

PARIS, FRANCE – DECEMBER 03: Winner Luka Modric of Croatia and Real Madrid attends the Ballon D’Or ceremony at Le Grand Palais on December 3, 2018 in Paris, France. (Photo by Aurelien Meunier/Getty Images)

Breaking the 10-year rule of the Ballon d’Or prize by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, Real Madrid’s Luka Modric has won the 2018 prize.

The prize, exchanging hands between Ronaldo and Messi since 2008, was awarded to the Croatian team captain for his role in his club’s win of their third consecutive Champions League title, and in leading his country to the World Cup final.

Juventus’ Ronaldo was in second place while Messi for the first time since 2018 was outside the top 2, coming fifth.

Athletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann came third with the Ballon d’Or young player of the year winner Kylian Mbappe coming fourth.

Photo Credit: Aurelien Meunier/Getty Images

1 Comment

  1. Anon

    December 4, 2018 at 2:41 am

    At 19, Mbappe coming fourth is heavy. The world at his feet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features