Connect with us


“Eziokwu”! Lynxxx Seizes the Number One Spot on This Week’s MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten Chart




DJ Xclusive (1)

At the top of the list this week is “Eziokwu” by Lynxxx – the first time the rapper has reached the coveted top spot on MTV Base’s authoritative music chart.  Flanking Lynxxx at number two is “Askio” by Darey Ft Ice Prince & Jozi, while former number one Banky W continues to make a strong showing at number three.

This week’s show sees a lot of movement on the chart, as Kcee’s Limpopo” makes its mark at number seven, and “Sexy Mama” by Iyanya feat. Wizkid makes it to number eight. It’s the second entry on the chart for Wizkid, who is also firmly entrenched at number six with “Azonto”. Finally, former number one 2Face  makes a swift return to the charts with “Dance Floor” at number 10.

DJ Xclusive (2)

Cool FM OAP DJ Xclusive joins Ehis (@SpecialSlim) in the studio for this week’s Official Naija Top 10, to discuss the hottest music videos and songs making a strong impact on the Nigerian music scene.

The twelfth episode of the Official Naija Top 10 premiered on the MTV Base block on NTA on Friday  24 May, and can be seen on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322on Tuesday 28 May @22.00 WAT, on AIT on Tuesday 28 May @ 21.30 WAT, and on STV  on Thursday  30 May @ 18.00 WAT.  Next week’s chart will be released on Friday 31 May on NTA @ 23.30 WAT.

Here’s this week’s Official Naija Top 10 (24 May – 31 May 2013) countdown:

official naija top 10.jpg

  1. Lynxxx Feat. IllBliss & Phyno – Eziokwu
  2. Darey Feat. Ice Prince & JoziAsiko
  3. Banky W – Yes/No
  4. Davido – Gobe
  5. Tiwa Savage Feat. Don JazzyWithout My Heart
  6. Wizkid – Azonto
  7. K-Cee – Limpopo
  8. Iyanya Feat. Wizkid – Sexy Mama
  9. Ice Prince – More
  10. 2Face Idibia – Dance Floor

DJ Xclusive (4)

The Official Naija Chart is decided by an elite judging panel of Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and taste makers put together by MTV Base including DJ Jimmy JattDJ Xclusive (Cool FM)DJ Humility (Cool FM), Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM), Bella Naija entertainment editor Onos O, and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

DJ Xclusive (3)

The show will air on the following platforms and times:

Premier on NTA – Fridays at 11:30pm |
1st Repeat on AIT -Tuesdays at 9:30pm
2nd repeat on MTV Base – Tuesdays at 10pm
3rd Repeat on STV – Thursdays at 6:00pm.

For further information about The Official Naija Top 10 go to, like us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @MTVBaseAfrica, using the hashtag #OfficialNaijaChart.


  1. comment awaiting moderation!

    May 28, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Omg! Wack song ever heard in my entire life!

    • KikiN

      May 28, 2013 at 2:44 pm

      Are you sure you’ve heard the song?

  2. Bella

    May 28, 2013 at 2:31 pm


  3. Eziokwu

    May 28, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    shame on you. this song doesn’t make sense. Right from the start and all. big shame. #truth

  4. iamfascinating

    May 29, 2013 at 4:06 am


  5. Femi

    May 31, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Big tune! Im yoruba but understand ibo and thats a heavy song for the eastern hiphop heads!

  6. G'IYAZ

    June 14, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Daht s0nq zz da bomb na! Who said wack????? You must be out of ya senses!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Star Features