Connect with us


“A Great Night for African Fashion” – Black Coffee, Ituen Basi, YSL, Duro Olowu & BellaNaija Win at Africa Fashion Awards 2010

Avatar photo



After four days of outstanding fashion on the ramps at Africa Fashion Week, last night at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg, South Africa, the best of African Fashion was celebrated at the 2010 Africa Fashion Awards.
The event which is in its second year of existence was organized by Africa Fashion International which is headed by Dr. Precious Moloi Motsepe. Designers from all over the continent gathered with bated breath to find out who would win the prestigious awards while artists such as Naeto C and Sasha performed for the crowd. With many of the categories split to accommodate African designers based on the continent and those based all around the globe, there was a wide variety of winners.

South Africa’s Black Coffee won the 2010 Designer of Year (Africa) award while Nigerian/British Duro Olowu won in the corresponding international category. South African fashion design pioneer, Marianne Fassler won the Most Outstanding Fashion Contribution award. Nigerian designer Ituen Basi becomes the first ever winner of multiple Africa Fashion Awards, she won the Emerging Designer of the Year award, she adds that to the Most Innovative Designer (2009) award which she won last year. Other winners included Ghanaian/British designer, Ozwald Boateng, American model – Sessilee Lopez and fashion legends – Yves Saint Laurant, Azzedine Alaïa and Joseph Joseph Ettedgui. was honoured with the Outstanding Contribution to Fashion Communication Award. We are truly honoured! Our Style/Fashion team headed by Ijeoma Ndekwu has worked tirelessly over the last year and a half. We are grateful to AFI for recognizing the team!

Africa Fashion Awards 2010 – The Winners
Designer of the Year (Africa): Black Coffee
Designer of the Year (International): Duro Olowu
Emerging Designer of the Year (Africa) – Ituen Basi
Emerging Designer of the Year (International) – Bunmi Koko
Retailer of the Year:
Top Makeup Artist: Pat McGrath
Stylist of the Year: Edward Enniful (Ghana)
Accessories Designer of the Year: Albertus Swanepoel
Menswear Designer of the Year (Africa): Stiaan Louw
Menswear Designer of the Year (International): Ozwald Boateng
Male Style Influencer: Michael Jackson
Miriam Makeba Female Style Influencer: Grace Jones
Outstanding Contribution in Photography: Koto Bofolo
Outstanding Contribution for Hair Direction: Saadique Ryklief
Model of the Year: Sessilee Lopez
Most Outstanding Fashion Contribution: Marianne Fassler
Lifetime Achievement Award: Yves Saint Laurant, Azzedine Alaïa and Joseph Joseph Ettedgui
Outstanding Contribution to Fashion Communication: (WOW! We are elated. Thank you!)

Thanks to Ladybrille | ShopLiquorice | & our Twitter Friends for the list of winners

Africa Fashion International Chairperson - Dr. Precious Moloi Motsepe

Designer - Bunmi Koko with partner, Francis Udom

Somali/Canadian Supermodel - Yasmin Warsame

Naeto C performed

Model of the Year winner, Sessilee Lopez


Music star K'Naan with Fashion Stylist - Arieta Mujay

Ituen Basi

Aisha Obuobi - Designer, Christie Brown

Miss SA 2008, Tatum Keshwar

Designing Duo - Ayaan and Idyl Mohallim of Mataano

Hot Models at the awards!

Red Carpet at the 2010 Africa Fashion Awards

Photo Credit: SDR

Star Features