Connect with us


AFRIFF 2019: Here are all the Winners at the Globe Awards



Akin Omotosho‘s “The Ghost and the House of Truth” made Nigeria proud by getting three awards in three different categories in the just concluded Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF). 

The event saw the closing film of the festival, ‘The Ghost and the House of Truth’ nabbing the award for Best Director.

Roye Okupe‘s “Malika – Warrior Queen”, won best animation and “Rattlesnakes” by Julius Amedume won best feature film.

Here’s the full list of winners below:

Shorts Competition

Special Mention
UNITED KINGDOM: Appreciation by Tomisin Adepeju

Best Student Short

Best Animation
NIGERIA: Malika – Warrior Queen by Roye Okupe

Best Short
ITALY: My Tyson by Claudio Casale


Special Jury for outstanding film (usually fiction but Jury selected documentary for outstanding achievement overall)
BURKINA FASO: Sankara is Not Dead by Lucy Vivier

Best Documentary
KENYA: In Search by Beryl Magoko

Fiction Competition 

Special Mention
GHANA: Gold Coast Lounge by Pascal Aka

Best Male Performance
SOUTH AFRICA: Bongile Mantsai in Knuckle City

Best Female Performance
NIGERIA: Kate Henshaw in The Ghost & House of Truth

Best Screenplay
RWANDA: Ramata Sy for Our Lady of The Nile

Oronto Douglas Award for Best Nigerian Film
The Ghost & The House of Truth

Best Director
NIGERIA: Akin Omotoso for The Ghost & The House of Truth

Best Feature Film
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Rattlesnakes by Julius Amedume

Audience Choice Award:
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA : Rattlesnakes by Julius Amedume

Peter Obi Legacy Award for Female Excellence
Lizzy Ovoeme

Star Features