Connect with us


Bauchi SSG & 7 Others Resign to Contest Election




Isa Yuguda

Ahead of the 2015 general elections, eight members of the Bauchi State Executive Council have resigned their appointments to contest various positions.

This is contained in a statement signed by the Principal Private Secretary to Governor Isa Yuguda, Alhaji Adamu Alkali, on Monday in Bauchi.

According to the statement, the members include the Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Aminu Hamayo; Chief of Staff, Government House, Alhaji Abdulkadir Mohammed, and Commissioner for Local Government Affairs, Malam Abubakar Fago.

Others are the Commissioner for Agriculture, Alhaji Isa Wabu; Commissioner for Water Resources, Alhaji Bappah Azare, and Commissioner for Envirnoment, Alhaji Tasiu Mohammed.

Some other members of the cabinet that also resigned included Commissioner for Works and Transport, Malam Sani Bura, and Commissioner for Tourism and Culture, Alhaji Mohammed Lassi.

Meanwhile, Yuguda has approved the appointments of Alhaji Mahmood Maijama’a, as Acting Secretary to the State Government, and Malam Tanko Dutse, as Chief of Staff, Government House.

NAN reports that while Maijama’a is state the Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development, Dutse was a former Commissioner for Agriculture during Yuguda’s first tenure

The statement said that the governor has directed the outgoing commissioners to handover the activities of their respective ministries to their Permanent Secretaries pending the appointment of new commissioners.

While wishing the outgoing cabinet members luck and Allah’s guidance in their political ambitions, Yuguda thanked them for their meritorious service to the state.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) was established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in May 1976 to gather and distribute news on Nigeria and cover events of interest to Nigeria at the international level for the benefit of the Nigerian Media and the Public.

Star Features