Connect with us



Lisa Folawiyo, Omoyemi Akerele, Amaka Osakwe & More make African Fashion Awards 2014 Nominees List



Africa Fashion Awards 2014 - Bellanaija - October 2014001

Lisa Folawiyo & Amaka Osakwe

Great news! The 2014 African Fashion Awards nominees have been announced and Nigeria has been well represented as Omoyemi Akerele of Style House Files/Lagos Fashion & Design Week, Lisa Folawiyo of her eponymous fashion label, Amaka Osakwe of Maki Oh, Favour LuckyImade Ogbewi both models from Isis Modelling Agency made the nominees list.

The event which also has nominees from South Africa, Ghana, Kenya and Italy is set to take place on Sunday 2nd November 2014 at Melrose Arch, Johannesburg, South Africa.

Presented by Africa Fashion International (AFI), the awards recognizes and celebrates exceptional achievements in fashion modelling, retail and other clothing and textile related art forms in Africa and its diaspora.

Speaking on the awards, AFI Marketing Manager Sizwe Nzimade said “Each year, it is a great privilege to recognize and reward all of the outstanding individuals contributing to the extraordinary development of the African fashion industry – a multifaceted sector that requires the efforts of myriad diverse talents to grow and prosper.

The winners will be selected by an esteemed panel of judges including former ELLE South Africa Editor & iconic fashion influencer, Jackie Burger; UNISA Director of VC Projects and Advisor to the Principal, Professor Puleng LenkaBula; Zambian-born, London-based journalist and Editor of New African Woman magazine, ReGina Jane Jere; Marie Claire South Africa Editor, Aspasia Karras; and top stylist and fashionista, Arieta Mujay.

Sizwe added that “The 2014 nominees have managed to stand out in a crowd that is already highly impressive and AFI looks forward to honouring them in a ceremony worthy of their outstanding efforts and achievements.

With the exception of the AFI Young Designer of the Year – who will be chosen from amongst the three AFI Fastrack™ 2014 Winners – nominees for each category were put forward earlier this year by a large group of key industry players.

See the list of nominees below

Designer of the Year
Lisa Folawiyo
(Nigeria), for her multifaceted, global womenswear and accessories brand, Lisa Folawiyo (formerly Jewel by Lisa).
Amaka Osakwe (Nigeria), for Maki Oh, a globally recognized womenswear label known for its deeply rooted African identity.
Marianne Fassler (South Africa), critically acclaimed and multi-award-winning fashion stalwart who continues to surprise and delight after 20 years in the industry.


Emerging Designer of the Year
Laduma Ngxokolo
(South Africa), for his Xhosa-heritage-inspired knitwear brand, currently taking international fashion by storm, MaXhosa by Laduma.
Nana Brenu (Ghana), for 1981 by Nana Brenu, conceived to bridge the gap between minimalist design sensibilities and vibrant, bold Ghanaian tradition.
Nick Coutts (South Africa), winner of ELLE Rising Star 2013, whose capsule collection is currently stocked by Mr Price.
Eleni Labrou (South Africa), AFI Young Designer of the Year 2013, for AKEDO, which has made significant inroads on the fashion map since its launch last year.

Accessory Designer of the Year
Chloe Townsend & Lizel Strydom
(South Africa), for Missibaba, a luxury leather accessories label.
Katherine-Mary Pichulik (South Africa), for Pichulik, a bespoke label of hand-crafted neckpieces accessories.
Adèle Dejak (Kenya), for Adèle Dejak, a brand offering accessories inspired by African shapes, textures and traditional techniques, owing to the designer’s background in typography design.

Outstanding Trend Communicator
Diana Opoti
(Kenya), Executive Producer of the TV show, Designing Africa (which reaches 42 countries) and champion of the #100DaysofAfricanFashion campaign.
Gaschette Magazine (South Africa), a digital fashion publication launched by creative trio, Colin O’Mara Davis, Steve Marais and Jessica Lupton.
A Fashion Friend (South Africa), an online fashion news portal, founded by fashion director, Robynne Kahn as a platform for young creatives.

Model of the Year
Dave Kabamba
(DRC), who has appeared in editorials for GQ Style, Under the Influence magazine, Sunday Times Fashion Weekly, Destiny Man, Business Class and Cosmopolitan, to name just a few. (Vision Models)
Bianca Brombin (SA), who has appeared in numerous magazines and modelling campaigns and recently appeared the music video for the song “Pit-bull Terrier” by Die Antwoord. (Ice Models)
Favour Lucky (Nigeria), MBFWAfrica 2014 model and Nigeria’s Next Supermodel 2011. (Isis Models)
Imade Ogbewi (Nigeria), MBFWAfrica 2014 model and Nigeria’s Next Supermodel 2013. (Isis Models)

Outstanding Contribution to African Fashion
France Sozzani
(Italy), Editor-in-Chief of Vogue Italia, respected for shining a spotlight on the African fashion industry’s growing role in the global fashion industry.
Kofi Ansah (Ghana), recently departed fashion designer and pioneer in the promotion of African fashion on the world stage.
Omoyemi Akerele (Nigeria), founder of Lagos Fashion & Design Week and the founding artistic director of Style House Files, a creative development agency for African designers.

Omoyemi Akerele

Omoyemi Akerele

Young Designer of the Year: (AFI Fastrack™ 2014 Winners)
Rich Mnisi

Nazneen Kagee
Jessica Ross
Tuelo Nguyuza

To find out more on the awards, please visit

1 Comment

  1. SOLA R.

    October 29, 2014 at 10:20 am

    well deserving….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features