Connect with us


N’Golo Kante beats Chelsea Teammate Eden Hazard to PFA Player of the Year Crown



N’Golo Kante

Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante has been voted the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year for the 2016-17 season becoming the first Frenchman to win the award since Thierry Henry in 2004. The Frenchman, who is on course to win a second successive Premier League title after also being part of the Leicester side which upset the odds last season, secured the most votes from his fellow players. He saw off competition from Chelsea team-mate Eden Hazard (who won the award in 2015) plus Tottenham‘s Harry Kane, Everton striker Romelu Lukaku, Zlatan Ibrahimovic of Manchester United and Arsenal‘s Alexis Sanchez.

Kante was presented with the award at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on Sunday evening.

Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli won the young player prize for the second successive season, Manchester City‘s Lucy Bronze won the women’s player of the year award for the second time having also won it in 2014, and Birmingham‘s Jess Carter topped the voting in the women’s young player category.

Former England captain David Beckham received the PFA’s Merit award for his contribution to the game.

Source: Telegraph UK

Photo Credit: Instagram – @nglkante


  1. Peaches77

    April 24, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    Niiice Kante! It was extremely difficult to pick a side btw you and Hazard!

  2. Anon

    April 24, 2017 at 3:03 pm

    He narrowly missed out last season. He deserves it – he did it with Leicester last season and is doing it with Chelsea this season. Look how bad Leicester’s run has been since he left the team and a like for like replacement wasn’t bought. Chelsea has been amazing this season because of his role. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features