Connect with us


Abosede George-Ogan, Precious Chinhamo, Aya Chebbi selected for 2020/2021 VVEngage Fellowship

Avatar photo



The VVEngage Fellowship has announced 37 outstanding women to participate in its 2020/2021 program, which supports extraordinary women political leaders making and influencing policy around the world.

The list includes a host of distinguished African women like Abosede George-Ogan (Nigeria), Co-Founder, ElectHER, Aya Chebbi (Ethiopia), Former Special Envoy on Youth, African Union, Lilian Riziq (South Sudan), President, South Sudan Women’s Empowerment Network, Mozn Hassan (Egypt), Executive Director and Founder, Nazra for Feminist Studies, Nekpen Osuan Wilson (United States), Co-Founder and CEO, WomenWerk, Precious Chinhamo (Zimbabwe), Member of Parliament, Parliament of Zimbabwe, Samah Bushra Ahmed (Sudan/United Kingdom), Founder and Director, Refugee Access and Vera Yaona Kamtukule (Malawi), Deputy Minister of Labour, Malawi Government.

VVEngage strives to change the culture around women’s public leadership and equality in public representation globally by improving the “capacity, decision-making power and effectiveness”s of female politicians and government leaders.

The program also aims to achieve a more “inclusive and equitable world by advancing the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through policy.”

Vice President of Political and Civic Engagement at Vital Voices, Manira Alva stated:

This year’s VVEngage cohort represents an incredibly diverse and accomplished group of women. It has never been more important to have women in political leadership leading intuitively and innovatively. We are very excited to work with these 37 women as they continue their political leadership journey, work to advance the SDGs, and create lasting change in their organizations, communities, and the world.

The 37 outstanding women include: 

  • Abosede George-Ogan, Co-Founder, ElectHER, Nigeria
  • Ágnes Vadai, Member of Parliament, Hungarian National Assembly, Hungary
  • Angelica Rubio, New Mexico State Representative, New Mexico State Legislature, United States
  • Aya Chebbi, Former Special Envoy on Youth, African Union, Ethiopia
  • Breea Clark, Mayor, City of Norman, United States
  • Clare Bailey, Member of Legislative Assembly, Green Party of Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
  • Elisa Vigil, Madrid Mayor’s Advisor, Madrid City Council, Spain
  • ElsaMarie D’Silva, Founder and CEO, Red Dot Foundation, India
  • Fanti Frida Yanti, Human Development and Governance Researcher, Baubau Planning Board, Indonesia
  • Gabriela González, Councilor, Municipal Government of Miguel Hidalgo, Mexico
  • Hina Parvez Butt, Member of the Provincial Assembly, Provincial Assembly Punjab, Pakistan
  • Imani Duncan-Price, Founder, Imani, Hope & Love Foundation, Jamaica
  • Iulia Scântei, Senator, Senate of Romania, Romania
  • Lili Bosse, Councilmember and Vice Mayor, City of Beverly Hills, United States
  • Lilian Riziq, President, South Sudan Women’s Empowerment Network, South Sudan
  • Lina AbiRafeh, Executive Director, The Arab Institute for Women, Lebanon
  • Maria Lantadilla, Councilwoman, Colina Municipality, Chile
  • Martha Lidia Oxi Chuy, Special Projects Director, MAIA Organization, Guatemala
  • Maya A. Tamayo, Co-Founder and Program Manager, Angat Bayi, Philippines
  • Mayyada Abu Jaber, Founder and CEO, JoWomenomics, Jordan
  • Mazal Shaul, CEO, WEPOWER, Israel
  • Mozn Hassan, Executive Director and Founder, Nazra for Feminist Studies, Egypt
  • Nageshwari Lochanprasad, Vice Chairwoman, Regional Democratic Council, Guyana
  • Nekpen Osuan Wilson, Co-Founder and CEO, WomenWerk, United States
  • Noelia Ruiz, Deputy, House of Deputies of the Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Olha Konsevych, Editor-in-Chief, 24 Channel, Ukraine
  • Pamela Bravo, Deputy Manager of Environmental Strategy and Climate Change, Municipality of Lima, Peru
  • Paulina Ibarra, Chairwoman International Steering Committee, Fundación Multitudes/ Civil Society Pillar of the Community of Democracies, Chile
  • Precious Chinhamo, Member of Parliament, Parliament of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
  • Priyanka Chaturvedi, Member of Parliament Rajya Sabha, India Parliament, India
  • Rafah Anabtawi, General Director, Kayan Feminist Organization, Israel
  • Rumana Ali, Member of Parliament, Bangladesh Parliament, Bangladesh
  • Samah Bushra Ahmed, Founder and Director, Refugee Access, Sudan/United Kingdom
  • Shirin Musa, Director, Femmes for Freedom, Netherlands
  • Vera Yaona Kamtukule, Deputy Minister of Labour, Malawi Government, Malawi
  • Veronica Sabbag, Founder and Chair, United Voices 4 Peace, Spain
  • Wai Wai Nu, Executive Director, Women’s Peace Network, Myanmar

According to VVEngage, the listed fellows will engage in online training and discussions throughout the fellowship.

Watch the introductory video below: