Connect with us


It’s Bright Okpocha! Basketmouth to Host 8th Annual Nigeria Entertainment Awards (NEA) in New York



NEA 2013 - BellaNaija - July 2013001

The Nigeria Entertainment Awards (NEA) is a few weeks away and all the nominees, members of the entertainment industry and the fans are looking forward to a great night of celebration anchored by a great host.

It is with great excitement that the producers announce that the host of the 8th annual Nigeria Entertainment Awards is non-other than comedian Bright ‘BasketMouth’ Okpocha. BasketMouth is a well-known comedian who has won numerous awards and hosted lots of shows. The comedian who recently concluded a US Tour titled Basketmouth Uncensored, is honored to be hosting the NEAs, and looks forward to a wonderful event that supports the industry.

The awards are scheduled to take place on Sunday 1st September 2013, at the NYU Skirball Performing Art Center in New York City. So far the line up of confirmed artists, actors, actresses and entertainers expected to attend include; Timaya, Wande Coal, Davido, Omawumi, Sean Tizzle, KCee, Iyanya, Chidinma, Burna Boy, Jaywon, Olamide, Denrele Edun and Bovi amongst others. Representing Nollywood are Rita Dominic, Funke Akindele, Ramsey Nouah, Uti, Ali Nuhu and OC Ukeje. With more names being confirmed and added to the list, this year’s award show is on track to be another fun-filled, star-studded show for the records.

Red carpet begins at 5PM, and the award show begins at 6PM prompt. To avoid last minute bookings, all attendees are encouraged to get their tickets as soon as possible on the website: and to arrive on time. The NEA Awards is sponsored and supported by BellaNaijaArik Air, CoolFM, MTech, BeatFM, YSGHubs, Mayven PR, 360Nobs, Jaguda, Firematic, and a host of others. The producers are thankful to all current sponsors and partners, and will in the coming weeks unveil more details for the pre-events leading up to the awards.

Date: Sunday 1st September 2013
Time: Red Carpet – 5PM; Main Show – 6PM
Venue: The NYU Skirball Performing Art Center, New York City
Contact: For more information on the NEAs Follow them on Twitter @NEAAwards | Like their Facebook page NEA Awards

About NEA
The NEA AWARDS is an annual entertainment award show held in the United States, with the sole purpose of celebrating and recognizing the numerous contributions of entertainers to the African entertainment industry, while at the same time promoting the image and rich culture of Nigeria.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ is a media partner for the 2013 Nigerian Entertainment Awards (NEA)


  1. Jenny Craig

    August 5, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Please I want to go


      August 5, 2013 at 6:07 pm

      So who’s holding you?

  2. zeee

    August 5, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    Please can someone explain to me why this awards is always held in the states?

  3. jay

    August 5, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    omo i dont understand Nigeria sometimes why would something that concerns Nigeria be held in usa? other countries hold their awards in their country why must ours be different!

  4. Omo

    August 6, 2013 at 2:38 am

    @ Jay thanks for your comment, was just thinking the same thing. This is getting ridiculous… the whole thing just tire me o. If dem like self make dem carry their award show and their red carpet go kapashan!!!!!!! Na dem sabi o

  5. Joe

    August 6, 2013 at 9:40 am

    @Jay Well said my African Brother..Am a Cameroonian and we also have Cameroon Entertainment Award (C.E.A) and it is held in the states to so i can’t just understand..why dont we appreciate our countries and make it a better place..WE have so many good venues in CAMEROON were this award can be hosted but as usual they always take it to the states..i don’t really know if the American government is one of the sponsor of this award. like Nigeria Entertainment Award or Cameroon Entertainment Award???

  6. Bcrown

    August 6, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Timaya, Wande Coal, Davido, Omawumi, Sean Tizzle, KCee, Iyanya, Chidinma, Burna Boy, Jaywon, Olamide, Denrele Edun and Bovi amongst others. Representing Nollywood are Rita Dominic, Funke Akindele, Ramsey Nouah, Uti, Ali Nuhu and OC Ukeje.

  7. dele olajide

    August 24, 2013 at 9:49 am

    I give it out to olamide badoo,my guy will win all d awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cabo Verde Airlines launches Flights to Beautiful Visa-Free Cape Verde

Star Features