Connect with us


The Countdown Has Begun! Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 Grand Finale set to Hold on March 19



Prize presentation to the shortlisted Flash Fiction writers

After several months of suspense and rigorous judging sessions and announcement of the 2015 shortlist, it is time for to the unveiling of the Prize recipient, as the award ceremony of Africa’s prestigious literary award, the Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 is only a few days away.

The event is set to hold on Saturday, 19th of March, 2016.

The remaining shortlisted writers are South African authors Penny Busetto with her book, The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself and Rehana Rossouw, author of What Will People Say? as well as Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila, author Tram 83. 

The shortlisted writers will kick off this year’s edition of Etisalat Prize for Literature multi-city book tour at the 2016 edition of Time of the Writer in University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban, South Africa with book reading sessions and book donation to City of Durban Library. This event is closely followed by Lagos Book Reading; and this year’s Award Ceremony which will embody the theme Representing the Diversity of African Voices by showcasing the richness of Africa and how our diversity converges into one unique voice of the continent. It promises to be an exciting event with performances ranging from poetry, monologues, and musical performances by Darey and Asa.

Here are the key highlights of the Prize journey so far:

2013 Edition

January 2014: Shortlist Announced – Bom Boy by Yewande Omotoso (Nigeria) | Finding Soutbek by Karen Jennings (South Africa) | We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)

February 23, 2014: Grand Finale at the Federal Palace Hotel | Winner: NoViolet Bulawayo (We Need New Names)

2014 Edition

December 2014: Shortlist Announced – An Imperfect Blessing by Nadia Davids (South Africa) | Happiness, Like Water by Chinelo Akparanta (Nigeria) | Penumbra by Songeziwe Mahlangu (South Africa)

March 15, 2015: Grand Finale at the InterContinental Lagos Hotel | Winner: Songeziwe Mahlangu (Penumbra)

2015 Edition

December 2015: Shortlist Announced – The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by Penny Busetto (South Africa) | Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila (DR Congo) | What Will People Say? by Rehana Rossouw (South Africa)

March 19, 2016: Grand Finale at the InterContinental Lagos Hotel | Winner: TBA

See highlights from the past editions below.

2014 Grand Finale Angelique Kidjo @ Prize for Literature 2014 Grand Finale CEO, Etisalat Nigeria, Matthew Willsher, Winner, NoViolet Bulawayo_ and Runners-up, Karen Jennings &amp_ Yetunde Omotoso for Prize for Literature 2013 Patron of the Etisalat Prize for Literature, Dele Olojede presenting the prize to the winner of the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature Flash Fiction Category, Neema Komba  Shortlisted finalists for the 2014 Etisalat Pan African Prize for Literature &#8211_ Nadia Davids, Chinelo Okparanta &amp_ Songeziwe Mahlangu Winner of Etisalat Prize for Litearature 2014, NoViolet Bulawayo with CEO, Etisalat Nigeria Winner of the 2014 Etisalat Pan African Prize for Literature, Songeziwe Mahlangu Yossou N&#8217_Dour at Etisalat Prize for Literature 2013

Sponsored Content



  1. Nicez

    March 10, 2016 at 12:10 am

    Nice one.

  2. Tosin

    March 10, 2016 at 6:07 pm

    what’s it gonna be ?

    cos i can’t pretend
    that i don’t wanna be
    more than friends – En Vogue (Don’t Let Go)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa
Sign up on Netflix

Star Features