Connect with us


Basketmouth & Cynthia Bailey Announced as AFRIMMA 2016 Hosts | Wizkid, Sauti Sol, AKA are Serial Nominees on this Year’s List



afrimmu new

The African Muzik Magazine Awards AFRIMMA has unveiled the list of nominees for the 3rd edition of the biggest African music awards in Diaspora. The hosts for this year’s edition are Basketmouth and ‘Real Housewives of Atlanta’ star, Cynthia Bailey.

Following the success of the 1st and 2nd editions, there are a lot of expectations for this year’s edition set to hold in Dallas on October 15th, 2016.

Some of Africa’s most impressive names on the music scene in the past calendar year earned a mention in highly competitive categories. Wizkid, Flavour, Davido, Sarkodie, AKA are joined by fresh faces like Falz, Mr. Eazi, Locko and Bisa Kdei on the AFRIMMA 2016 Nominees list. Also for the first time in the history of AFRIMMA, North African music and Caribbean music have been recognized with categories.

Celebrating African music and heritage , the 3rd edition of the annual African Muzik Magazine Awards AFRIMMA promises to be another festival of African music. You get your tickets and start voting at

See the full list of nominees here:

Best Male West Africa
Wizkid – Nigeria
Bisa Kdei – Ghana
Serge Beynaud – Ivory Coast
Olamide – Nigeria
Flavour – Nigeria
Carlou D – Senegal
Davido – Nigeria
Sarkodie – Ghana

Best Female West Africa
Tiwa Savage – Nigeria
Yemi Alade – Nigeria
Efya – Ghana
Vivian Chidid – Senegal
Mz Vee – Ghana
Dobet Gnahore – Ivory Coast
Adiouza – Senegal
Almok – Togo

Best Male East Africa
Eddy Kenzo – Uganda
Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania
Jacky Gosee – Ethiopia
Ali Kiba – Tanzania
Jose Chameleon – Uganda
Bebe Cool – Uganda
Sauti Sol – Kenya
Dynamq – South Sudan

Best Female East Africa
Victoria Kimani – Kenya
Vanessa Mdee – Tanzania
Ester Aweke – Ethiopia
Tsedenia Gebremarkos – Ethiopia
Linah – Tanzania
Knowles Butera – Rwanda
Sheebah Karungi – Uganda
Akothee – Kenya

Best Male Central Africa
Fally Ipupa – Congo
Magasco – Cameroon
Ferre Golla – DRC
C4 Pedro – Angola
Stanley Enow – Cameroon
Kyaku Kadaff – Angola
Franko – Cameroon
Fabregas – Republic of Congo

Best Female Central Africa
Anna Joyce – Angola
Laurette La Perle – Congo
Betty Akna – Equitorial Guinea
Charlotte Dipanda – Cameroon
Chikune – Namibia
Daphne – Cameroon
Rennis – Cameroon
Arielle T – Gabon

Best Male Southern Africa
AKA – South Africa
Black Coffee – South Africa
The Dogg – Namibia
Vee Mampeezy – Botswana
DJ Bongz – South Africa
Emtee – South Africa
Roberto – Zambia
Casper Nyomvest- South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa
Zonke – South Africa
Miss Lira – South Africa
Ice Queen Cleo – Zambia
Lizha James – Mozambique
Pah Chihera – Zimbabwe
Nnunu Ramo Gotsy – Botswana
Busiswa – South Africa

Best Male North Africa
Amr Diab – Egypt
Tamer Hosny – Egypt
Chawki – Morocco
Mohammed Hamaki – Egypt
Douzi – Morocco
Saad Lamjareed – Morocco
Khaled -Algeria
Saber Rebai – Tunisia

Best Female North Africa
Samira Said – Morrocco
Ibtissam Tiskat – Morocco
Angham – Egypt
Sandy – Egypt
Amal Maher – Egypt
Latifa – Tunisia
Amani Swissi – Tunisia
Jannat Mahid – Morocco

Best African Group
Sauti Sol – Kenya
Radio & Weasel – Uganda
Os Moikanos – Angola
Bracket – Nigeria
Mi Casa – South Africa
R2bee’s – Ghana
Bana C4 – Congo
Yamoto Band – Tanzania

Crossing Boundaries With Music Award
C4 Pedro – Angola
Wizkid – Nigeria
Maitre Gims – Congo
Tinie Tempah – Nigeria
MHD – Senegal
Ayo Jay – Nigeria
STL – Kenya
Rotimi – Nigeria

Best Gospel
Frank Edwards – Nigeria
Uche Agu – Nigeria
Willy Paul – Kenya
SP Koffi Sarpong – Ghana
Icha Kavons – Congo
Ntokozo Mbambo – South Africa
Sinach- Nigeria
Sonnie Badu – Ghana

Best Newcomer
Adekunle Gold – Nigeria
Reekado Banks- Nigeria
Harmonize – Tanzania
Falz – Nigeria
Locko- Cameroon
Nathi – South Africa
Kofi Kinaata – Ghana
Humblesmith – Nigeria

Best Video Director
Justin Campos – South Africa
Godfather – South Africa
Clarence Peters – Nigeria
Patrick Elis- Nigeria
Mysta Adrenalyne -Cameroon
Enos Olik – Kenya
Phamous Films – Ghana
Savy Filmz – Uganda

Best DJ Africa
DJ Spinall – Nigeria
DJ Joe MFalme – Kenya
DJ Cndo – South Africa
DJ Neptune – Nigeria
DJ Malvado Jnr – Angola
DJ Shiru – Uganda
DJ D-Ommy – Tanzania
DJ Labastille – Cameroon

DJ Tunes – Nigeria
DJ Amin – Ethiopia
Dozzy Ross – Nigeria
DJ Deemoney – Nigeria
DJ Silent Killa – Carribeans
DJ Akua – Ghana
DJ Fully Focus -Kenya
DJ Rell – Sierra Leone

Video of The Year
Flavour – Champion (Nigeria)
Emma Nyra ft Patoranking – For My Matter Remix (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol ft Ali Kiba – Unconditional Bae (Kenya/Tanzania)
Bisa Kdei – Brother Brother (Ghana)
Akothee ft Diamond – My Sweet Love Kenya /Tanzania
Stanley Enow ft Aka and Locko – Bounce (Cameroon/South Africa)
Phyno ft Olamide – Fada Fada
Korede Bello ft Tiwa Savage – Romantic ( Nigeria )

Music Producer of The Year
Young John – Nigeria
Masterkraft – Nigeria
Dr Fizol – Uganda
Kaywa – Ghana
Visita – Kenya
Tweezy – South Africa
Tud Thomas – Tanzania
DJ Coublon – Nigeria

Best African Dancer
Kaffy Dancequeen – Nigeria
Ezinne CEO – Nigeria
Brenda Derry – Cameroon
Sherri Silver – Rwanda
La Petite Zota – Ivory Coast
Eddy Wizzy – Uganda
Moses Iyobo – Tanzania
Roxy Roberts

Best Rap Act
Phyno – Nigeria
Olamide – Nigeria
AKA – South Africa
Sarkodie – Ghana
Casper Nyovest – South Africa
King Kaka Sungura – Kenya
Octopizzo – Kenya
Prodigio – Angola

Best Collaboration
Reggae Blues – Harrysong , Kcee , Iyanya, Olamide and Orezi
Finally – MasterKraft , Flavour and Sarkodie
Skin Tight – Mr. Eazi ft Efya
Make Me Sing – Diamond Platnumz ft AKA
Soweto Baby – Wizkid & DJ Maphorisa
Approchez Regardez – Kiff No Beat ft DJ Arafat
Is it Because I love You – Lil Kesh ft Patoranking
Time is Now – J Martins ft Youssour Ndour

Song of The Year
Unconditional Bae – Sauti Sol ft Ali Kiba
Coller La Petite – Franko
Reggae Blues – Kcee, Harrysong, Orezi, Iyanya and Olamide
Mansa – Bisa Kdei
Duro- Tekno
Mama- Kiss Daniel
Fada Fada – Phyno ft Olamide
Make Me Sing – Diamond Platnumz ft Aka

Artist of The Year
Flavour – Nigeria
Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania
Sarkodie – Ghana
Wizkid – Nigeria
AKA – South Africa
Tiwa Savage – Nigeria
Sauti Sol – Kenya
C4 Pedro – Angola

Dancehall Act of the Year
Timaya – Nigeria
Stonebwoy – Ghana
Buffola Soldier – Zimbabwe
Burna Boy – Nigeria
MC Norman Ganja -Uganda
Samini – Ghana
Patoranking – Nigeria
Shatta Wale – Ghana

Caribbean Artist of The Year
Morgan Heritage
Machel Montano
Sean Paul
Busy Signal
Tarrus Riley

__________________________________________________________________ is a media partner for AFRIMMA 2016


  1. Linda Mwami

    July 22, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    Emma Nyra ft Patoranking – For My Matter Remix (Nigeria)… trying to understand this nomination :/
    It would be interesting to know how the Afrimma awards show reaches its conclusion on which artists makes the list?
    What about Niniyola, queen on the clubs? Cynthia Morgan, reggae artist? Shiikane for best group?

  2. Notimeforstinkingthings

    July 22, 2016 at 4:26 pm

    Wizkid all the way,Baba God no ni.

  3. Prince

    July 22, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    Tiwa Savage in all the category she’s nom for. Lagbara olodumare.

  4. Missy J

    July 22, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    You will fear ‘crossing boundaries with music’ award naw.
    All the best to the artistes nominated.

  5. BlueEyed

    July 23, 2016 at 7:53 am

    Lmao Basic Cynthia Bailey?? Y’al didn’t even try to get Kandi?

  6. Ifeyinwa Atuanya

    July 23, 2016 at 10:34 am

    Cynthia Bailey Thomas is not basic.

    She’s brains and beauty.

    She’ll do a very good job.

  7. Chi

    July 23, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    I actually like that Emma Nyra song but the video lmaoooo who makes these list. Maybe because Emma hosted something they had back in the day !!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tangerine Africa

Star Features