Connect with us



Avatar photo



By now everyone should know what the Future Awards are. For those who don’t, this is an awards show aimed at honouring and celebrating Young Nigerians (aged between 18 – 31) who are making tremendous impacts in various fields.

The awards were launched in 2006 and recently the 2nd Edition (The Future Awards 2007) took place on Sunday, 14th of January 2007 at the Muson Centre Lagos.
It was a fabulous by all accounts. Well organized, colourful, glamorous and most of all, inspiring.

What might surprise you is that the event was organized by the RedSTRAT team –
Emilia Asim-Ita, Adebola Williams and Chude Jideonwo.
These three young people are so accomplished that I will like to tell you about but I do not even know where to start.

Emilia is one of the brains behind SLEEK, publishers of the SLEEK Magazine, and the guys behind the Creative Academii

Adebola is the Producer of Nigeria International, which shows on the NTA Network, AIT Nigeria and U.S. and BEN TV in the U.K.

Chude is the hands-down the best interviewer in Nigeria! I am not even exaggerating. Read his interviews and you will agree with me immediately (Check out the 2006 Big Brother Nigerian magazine or any recent issue of True Love West Africa). Chude published his first novel, His Father’s Knickers, when he was 13. He presently writes Sons & Daughters in Sunday THISDAY, for True Love West Africa and TAKAii.

To find out more about the RedSTRAT Team, Click HERE
Anyway, here is the list of the 2007 winners as well as exclusive photos from the event (Thanks Chude!!!!!!!!! You Rock!)

Young Person of the Year:
Tara Fela-Durotoye – Makeup entrepreneur, House of Tara and Orekelewa Makeup

Entrepreneur of the Year:
Funke Bucknor – CEO, Zapphaire Events

Entrepreneur of the Year (Beauty & Style):
Bola Balogun and Yemi Akerele – Exclusive Styling and Imaging Consultants

Model of the Year:
Doyin Haastrup

Best Use of Goodwill:

Actor of the Year:
Omono Imobhio – Accomplished Stage Actress

Journalist of the Year:
Shina Oyetayo – TELL

On-Air Personality of the Year:
Ikponwusan Osakioduwa (Wildchild) – Temptation Nigeria/Studio 53

Musician of the Year:

Professional of the Year:
Modupe Adefeso – Director, YDNX (Youth Dynamix – a subsidiary of LTC-JWT)

Producer of the Year:
Denrele Edun – Soundcity

Magazine of the Year:

Team of the Year:
MASK – Dance Troupe

Best Use of Technology:
Lanre Lawal – Multimedia guru (Winner of the inaugural International Young Design Entrepreneur of the Year IYDEY award)

Youth Advocacy:
Gbenga Sesan – Nigeria’s Information Technology Youth Ambassador

CONGRATS to the winners.
All the winners get a night for couples during the exclusive Winners After-Party for 50 at the enchanting Miccom Golf Resorts in Ada, Osun State, they also got phones from Celtel and Ericsson, goodie bags courtesy of Tiger Tem, a free one year membership of the British Council, a choice of books from Farafina, autographed copy of Kaine Agary’s book, Yellow Yellow, and one full day of pampering at the Venivici spa.

Olaotan Towry-Coker, CEO What’s New Magazine (Frontline Media) & Adeola Adewunmi, CEO of Bookworm

Ndidi Okonkwo Nwuneli, Founder/CEO LEAP Africa & Ebuka Obi Uchendu, Big Brother Nigeria

Lola Omotayo & Peter Okoye (P-Square)

Model, Isio Wanogho with her date

Chimamanda Adichie

Lanre Lawal, Winner – The Future Awards Best Use of Technology 2007, Katung Aduwak Winner – BBN & Nkiru Olumide-Ojo, Marketing and Public Relations Manager – Virgin Nigeria

Doyin Haastrup, Winner – The Future Awards Model of the Year 2007 ~ Michelle Ashionye Ugboh, Musician/TV Presenter

Buki de la Zaria, Designer/Creative Director – Azaria ~ Elizabeth Elorhor Isioho, CEO Beth Modelling Agency

Consultant, Fela Durotoye ~ Actress, Dakore Egbuson with IK (Wildchild), Winner – The Future Awards On-Air Personality of the Year 2007

Comedian, Basketmouth ~ Data Okorodudu, Designer JD7

Musician, Ego Ihenacho Ogbaru ~ Musician, Essence

Francisca, Big Brother Nigeria ~ Funlola Aofiyebi with Teju Babyface

MBGN Universe, Tienepre Oki ~ Paul (P-Square) with date

Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi with Tayo Fayomi ~ Maureen Osuji, Ify Ejikeme & Francisca Owumi – Big Brother Nigeria

Storm Records Musicians – Ikechukwu & Naeto C ~ Ifeoma Ejikeme & Basketmouth

Infinity ~ The Future Awards Professional of the Year Nominee, Lola Talabi

Katung, Winner Big Brother Nigeria with Ebuka ~ Music Producer, Cobhams

Denrele Edun, Winner – The Future Awards Producer of the Year 2007 ~ Emma Ugolee, Globacom

Dr Reuben Abati, Editor – The Guardian Newspaper ~ Dr.Pat Utomi, Lagos Business School/Bank PHB

Illrymz ~ Essence, Segun Obe and Ego singing the national anthem

Let me know if I misnamed any of the pics.

That’s it! Have a great week.
Pleaseeeee! Leave your comments and let us know what you think of the awards, the outfits, whatever pops into your mind. By the way, the dresscode was ‘a touch of green’.

Anyways, these young people are all amazing! Very inspiring and very fab!

Living & Celebrating the African Dream! Catch all the Scoop on Follow us Twitter: @bellanaija Facebook: @bellanaija Instagram: @bellanaijaonline

Star Features