Connect with us


Adesua Etomi, Wale Ojo, Enyinna Nwigwe & More Nominated for the 2016 BON Awards



Adesua Etomi

Adesua Etomi

The organizers of the Best of Nollywod (BON) Awards have released the list of nominees for the 2016 edition. The nominees’ list was unveiled in Lagos to an exclusive audience comprising entertainment editors and select stakeholders in the movie industry.

According to Niran Adedokun, president of the BON jury, the release followed weeks of screening of over 120 entries made up of feature films in English, Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo, 10 short films, 5 documentaries and 7 television series.

While congratulating the nominees, Adedokun acknowledged the resilience of Nigerian filmmakers for defying the current harsh economic realities to sustain their creative activities. He thanked the organisers of the awards for the opportunity to serve while encouraging practitioners to continue to strive for excellence noting that the industry has unlimited prospects.

Aimed at recognising and promoting the best of films and filmmakers in Nigeria, the BON Awards, in less than one decade of its existence, has become the most authentic home grown platform honouring the richness and ingenuity of Nigerian cinema.

This year’s edition shall be hosted by the executive governor of Abia State, Dr. Okezie Ipkeazu.

Best Actor in Leading Role (English)

  • Wale Ojo in For The Wrong Reasons
  • Alex Ekubo in The First Lady
  • Patrick Leonard in  Woeman
  • Stan Eze in Not just Married
  • Enyinna Nwigwe  in Hire A Man
  • Okey Uzoeshi in Something Wicked

Best Actor in Leading Role (Yoruba)

  • Femi Adebayo in Gbewiri Meta
  • Niyi Johnson in Lifeline
  • Muyiwa Ademola in Eni –Owo
  • Lateef Adedimeji in Yeye Oge
  • Yomi Fabiyi in Metomi

Best Actor in Leading Role (Hausa)

  • Ali Nuhu in Gamu nan Dai
  • Sadiq Dan Sadiq in Mat Da Lados

Best Actor in Leading Role (Igbo)

  • Blossom Chukwujeku in Icheke Oku
  • Amadi Magnus in Akaraaka

Best Actress in Leading Role (English)

  • Omotu Bissong in Woeman
  • Judith Audu in Not Just Married
  • Ebube Nwagbo in Anniversary
  • Belinda Effah in Oracle Online
  • Omoni Oboli in The First Lady
  • Iretiola Doyle in Something Wicked

Best Actress in Leading Role (Yoruba)

  • Mercy Aigbe in Victims
  • Temitope Solaja in Lehin Ikoro
  • Toyin Aimakhu in Metomi
  • Wumi Toriola in Eni Owo
  • Yewande Adegbenro in Yeye Oge
  • Jumoke Odetola in Binta Ofege

Best Actress in Leading Role (Igbo)

  • Nichole Banna in Icheke Oku
  • Adaeze Chiegbu in Akaraaka

Best Actress in Leading Role (Hausa)

  • Jamila Umar in Kasata
  • Rahama Sadau in Mati Da Lado

Best Supporting Actor (English)

  • I.K Ogbonna in Hire a man
  • Nkem Owoh in Ghana Must Go
  • Daniel K. Daniel in A Soldier’s story
  • Seun Akindele in Black Val
  • Rotimi Salami in Just Not Married
  • Gabriel Afolayan in Something Wicked

Best Supporting Actress (English)

  • Nancy Isime in Hire a man
  • Onyii Alex in Don’t fight it
  • Helen Paul in Ghana Must go
  • Eniola Badmus in Black Val
  • Yvonne Jegede in The First Lady
  • Adesua Etomi/ Ivie Okujaye-Egbon/Beverly Naya in Something Wicked

Most Promising Actor

  • Rotimi Salami in Just Not Married
  • Steve Enagbare in Destiny Gate
  • Bright Wonder in Fidelity
  • Seun Ajayi in Studio

Most Promising Actress

  • Princess Osayomwanbor Peters in Destiny Gate
  • Gina Castle in Fidelity
  • Ade Laoye in Studio
  • Zainab Balogun in A Soldier’s Story

Best Child Actor

  • Daniel Udah in Opeyemi
  • Tunde Babasola in D’ Wish

Best Child Actress

  • Pricilia Ojo in Black Val
  • Neraya Akaboa in D’ Wish
  • Angel Unigwe in Woeman

Best Comedy of the Year

  • Ghana Must Go
  • ATM
  • Behind the Scenes
  • The First Lady
  • Just Not Married

Movie with the Best Social Message

  • Voiceless Scream
  • Leyin Ilekun
  • For the Wrong Reasons
  • ATM
  • Woeman

Movie with the Best Special Effect

  • Icheke Oku
  • Gbewiri Meta
  • A soldier’s story
  • Storm

Movie with the Best Screenplay

  • For the Wrong Reasons
  • Hire a man
  • Icheke Oku
  • Just Not Married
  • Irawe Igbo
  • Something Wicked
  • Eni-Owo

Best Short Film of the Year

  • Opeyemi
  • D’ wish
  • Deeply Cut
  • Pepper Soup
  • Silence
  • Homesick

Best Documentary of the Year

  • Amaka’s kin
  • D’ ability
  • For you my son

Best TV Series of the Year

  • Lasgidi Cops (SCU)



    November 25, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    Erm…. what year is this for again? Looks like a mix and match of movies from 2014-2016. Congratulations to the nominees though

  2. wink

    November 25, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    I see you Steve, this is just the beginning. Congrats darl

  3. Zainab

    November 29, 2016 at 8:02 am

    Eyinna Nwigwe!!!! Nollywood to the World! Congrats to all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.