Connect with us


Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Penny Busetto & Rehana Rossouw shortlisted for Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015



Etisalat Prize for Lierature 2015 Shortlist
Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Penny Busetto and Rehana Rossouw have been announced as the three shortlisted authors for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature. The Etisalat Prize for Literature is the first pan-African Prize that is open solely to debut fiction writers from African countries. This prize is acknowledged as the most prestigious literary prize for African fiction.

The three books, selected from the longlist of nine, are:

  • Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo) – Tram 83
  • Penny Busetto (South Africa) – The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself
  • Rehana Rossouw (South Africa) – What Will People Say?

The shortlist was selected by a three-member judging panel: Professor Ato Quayson, Professor of English and inaugural Director of the Centre for Diaspora Studies at the University of Toronto (Chair of Judges); Molara Wood, writer, journalist, critic and editor; and Zukiswa Wanner, author of Men of the South and London Cape Town Joburg.

The shortlisted writers will be rewarded with a sponsored multi-city book tour and will also have 1,000 copies of their books purchased by Etisalat for distribution to schools, libraries and book clubs across the Continent.

Tram 83 was published by Deep Vellum while The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself and What Will People Say? were published by Jacana Media.

NoViolet Bulawayo won the maiden edition of the Etisalat Prize for Literature with her highly celebrated debut novel, We Need New Names, while Songeziwe Mahlangu emerged winner of the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature competition with his novel, Penumbra.

The winner of the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be announced in March and will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen. The Prize also includes an Etisalat sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

For more information about the Prize, visit

Sponsored Content

1 Comment

  1. Tari

    December 24, 2015 at 2:12 am

    The book i rooted for in the long list did not make the cut.
    Therefore, I will now root for Rehana Rossouw. Tram 83 is not originally written in English, so I think it should be disadvantaged.
    However, may the best writer win. Whoever wins, I will endeavour to add WHAT WILL PEOPLE SAY and TRAM 83 to my collection and read them soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get The Pan-Atlantic Advantage

Star Features